Supervising solicitors are court appointed solicitors who have experience in the execution of court orders such as search and doorstep delivery up orders.

Executing a search order is often plagued with difficulties. Careful advanced planning with the search team and communication are crucial especially if you have a number of target sites (including computers to search and image) and respondents on which to serve.

A first essential is therefore a good experienced search team. When selecting a supervising solicitor to be part of that search team it is important to have regard to the complexity of the situations they have previously dealt with and the sensitivity of the situations they are at ease with handling.

The supervising solicitor acts independently of the parties and serves the order on the respondent, explaining its meaning and consequences and supervises the order being carried out by the applicant’s representatives. All steps taken during the search are:-

  1. Supervised by the supervising solicitor;
  2. Carried out in the presence of the respondent or his solicitor;  and
  3. Must be sanctioned by the court order.

The decision as to who to appoint as the supervising solicitor is therefore crucial – they will be the first person to contact the respondent and secure the search site. The working relationship they are able to build with the parties is extremely important and often dictates how successfully orders are carried out. Improper or oppressive conduct by the parties during the search’s execution can be, via the supervising solicitors’ report, the subject of unwelcome court criticism and could be a contempt of court.

Find a supervising solicitor

Here is a list of those CFLA members who have confirmed that they have experience in acting as a supervising solicitor*:

Name Email Telephone
Christopher, William
Kingsley Napley LLP
wchristopher@kingsleynapley.co.uk 020 7566 2967
Colston, Jane
Brown Rudnick LLP
jcolston@brownrudnick.com 0207 851 6059
Davies, Ben
Byrne and Partners LLP
ben.davies@byrneandpartners.com 020 7842 1651
de Jongh, Alex
Bates Wells and Braithwaite LLP
a.dejongh@bwbllp.com 020 7551 7832
Diaz-Rainey, Julian
Pinsent Masons LLP
julian.diaz-rainey@pinsentmasons.com 0161 250 0236
Felce, Jon
PCB Litigation LLP
jf@pcblitigation.com 020 7831 2691
Gabriel, Sarah
Peters & Peters
sgabriel@petersandpeters.com 020 7822 7730
Grant, Paul
BSG Solicitors LLP
paul@bsgsolicitors.com 020 8343 4411
Hunter, Dipti
PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP
dipti.hunter@pwc.com 020 7213 5028
Katz, Laurence
Gunner Cooke
laurence.katz@gunnercooke.com 0203 700 3905
Loblowitz, Daniel
Jury O'Shea LLP
daniel.loblowitz@juryoshea.com 020 3735 7379
Maher, Adam
Myerson
Adam.Maher@myerson.co.uk 0161 941 4000
Mascarenhas, Trevor
PCB Litigation
tam@pcblitigation.com 020 7831 2691
Oakley, Robert
Bates Wells and Braithwaite LLP
r.oakley@bwbllp.com 020 7551 7792
Oliver, Keith
Peters & Peters
keoliver@petersandpeters.com 020 7822 7722
Philippsohn, Steven
PCB Litigation
snp@pcblitigation.com 020 7831 2691
Ratcliff, Nick
PCB Litigation
nr@pcblitigation.com 020 7831 2691
Riem, Anthony
PCB Litigation
ajr@pcblitigation.com 020 7831 2691
Robson, Malcolm
Bates Wells and Braithwaite LLP
m.robson@bwbllp.com 020 7551 7797
Sheeley, Alan
Pinsent Masons LLP
alan.sheeley@pinsentmasons.com 0207 054 2626
Simpson, Fiona
Kingsley Napley LLP
fsimpson@kingsleynapley.co.uk 020 7814 1231
Tickner, Jonathan
Peters & Peters
jtickner@petersandpeters.com 020 7822 7766
Woodland, Jason
Peters & Peters
jwoodland@petersandpeters.com 020 7822 7760

*The CFLA can give no assurances or warranties regarding the accuracy of any of this Website’s contents. The CFLA accepts no responsibility for, and excludes all liability in connection with use of information on this Website and downloading any material from it, including, but not limited to, any liability for errors, inaccuracies, omissions or misleading or defamatory statements.

Latest article

SEE ALL

Next event

SEE ALL
Thu, 28 Mar 2019 @ 6:00 pm - 8:00 pm

Fraud actions post Brexit: how might they be managed?

Please join us for this highly topical presentation in which Anthony Trace QC will consider the impact of Brexit on the management of fraud actions.